Berry and Peach Cobbler

Local peaches have started coming in to stores and farmer’s markets in the central valley. I have a love/hate relationship with peaches. I love the way they taste, but I am completely freaked out by peach skin.   Do you eat the skin, do you peel it off and lose all of the fruit that sticks to it, and what about the pit, how do you cut around it or get it out?  Wanting to make a cobbler, I did what any rational person would do: I asked my husband to slice the peaches for me.

While my mother actually makes the BEST peach cobbler known to mankind, hers is made with all peaches and I wanted to use some berries as well. I got this recipe from Deborah Madison’s Seasonal Fruit Desserts.  I don’t use this book a lot, because, honestly, I’m not really a dessert girl, but I’ve kept this book around for the express use in summertime. Note: in the recipe there’s a tip for handling peach skins.

SketchGuru_20160709141401

I love peaches with berries in the summer (I’ve been contemplating making a rose sangria with peaches and raspberries), and while using fresh berries would get a bit expensive (the recipe calls for 2 cups fresh berries) I did have a bag of frozen. I’ve made this before, and I could have sworn that you were offered alternatives to the corn flour. I say that because I’ve made it before with corn meal, but I’ve also used almond meal. Since I still had almond meal in my pantry I decided to go with that. (There’s a note that polenta will be too coarse, and she isn’t kidding. Oh, it’s still delicious, but it has a crunch.) We’d gotten peaches in our CSA box, I think one of them was actually a nectarine, so Husband J peeled and sliced them for me. Upon peeling and slicing I discovered that I was quite short on the 6 cups sliced needed for the recipe. Oh well. I used frozen blueberries and a frozen berry mix (strawberries, blackberries and blueberries) for the rest. Almond meal instead of corn flour. Into the oven until it was nicely browned and bubbling.

SketchGuru_20160709144450

We had it with some vanilla ice cream. The next morning before work I had some for my breakfast using the rationale “it’s fruit and almond meal – antioxidants and protein!”

Leave a Reply

