Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki and Garlic-Herb Oil

on

Friday night’s dinner also came courtesy of The Mediterranean Table, so that cookbook has already paid for itself. Friday is the night I’m least likely to want to/have the energy to cook. I’d planned this one out, but made one tiny error.  The recipe calls for using a rotisserie pre-cooked chicken, but because I work so early, and leave work so early, the rotisserie chickens were just being put on to cook. However, that’s what I have backup chicken for. Yes, backup chicken. We have boneless skinless chicken breasts in the freezer for nights when I just can’t do anything else.

So I went home, defrosted several chicken breasts and made a marinade of lemon juice, olive oil, and 2 heaping tablespoons of my new Greek seasoning blend. (I’m now out, I’ve used so much this week). I let that sit for about an hour and then just baked the chicken. The recipe calls for you to shred the rotisserie chicken, but mine wouldn’t really shred, so I diced it once it was done. The garlic-herb oil was olive oil, garlic and dried oregano warmed.

It was my first time making tzatziki, and it won’t be my last. However, I had a full container of Strauss European Style yogurt, so I wasn’t about to buy a new container of Greek yogurt for one recipe. The European style is runny and thin, so vastly different than Greek. It worked perfectly: I ended up with a tzatziki that is more dressing-like than dip-like. (In fact, this may just be my new salad dressing). It drizzled over the chicken and salad instead of just being plopped on.

The salad was a simple blend of chopped cucumber, tomato, red onion, parsley and mint with a little lemon juice thrown in. The recipe made a lot, so we had it for lunch the next day. It’s even better the next day. I was worried about the mint getting gross, as mint tends to do that, but it was fine (the lemon juice helped maybe?). In fact this would be a great meal to make on a sunday, you could grill the chicken to use, and then there would be plenty of leftovers for lunches for the week. Did I mention ridiculously healthy and good lunches? Yeah, that too.

Leave a Reply

