Spanish Tortilla

on

This is California: you say tortilla and the assumption is you’re talking about the flat bread, not the egg and potato and whatever-else-you-want-to-add pie.  It’s another take on the egg dish-as-dinner. I got this week’s version from The Mediterranean Table (that book is proving its worth).

SketchGuru_20160510172227

 

Here’s a great substitute recipe from Sunset. Like the frittata you can add whatever you have leftover, need to get rid of, or just plain want. I went with onion and pepper and added a healthy dose of thyme.

SketchGuru_20160512165238

Here it is, just into the pan with the olive oil. Everything will soften up and brown and get really delicious, and then you add the egg and allow everything to set.

I have to admit: I really suck at making these. I cannot, for the life of me, get them to come out of the pan. I’ve decided that stressing over it would be futile, so I just dish it out like a casserole. It still tastes great, it’s just not as aesthetically pleasing. Oh, and it’s really filling. There’s always leftovers for the next day’s breakfast or lunch.

We started with bacon wrapped dates and marinated olives. I’d gotten some romaine to make a nice green salad…but I somehow forgot to make it? I might have been sidelined by the dates. Seriously, when you cook dates and bacon it comes out like candy. If candy had saturated fat in it. And because I knew that both son j and Husband J would just chomp into the Medjool dates, even if I warned them beforehand that there were pits, I pitted them. And by pitting them I mean I just squished them open to remove the pits. Is there a better way of doing it?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

