Salmon with Pesto

on

Salmon with pesto is one of my go-to recipes.  I’d like to say I invented this and I’m a genius, but the fact is I stole this from a restaurant in Portland. Milo’s City Cafe was my favorite place for breakfast and my spot for a nice dinner by myself when the husband was out of town for work. They did salmon with pesto, topped with crispy fried potato strings and while I’m not up to attempting the potato “nest”, but I can do the pesto.

Step 1. Cook salmon on grill (with a little olive oil)

Step 2. After about 10 minutes put heavy layer of pesto on top.

Step 3. Cook for about 5 minutes longer, depending upon thickness of fillet or steak.

SketchGuru_20160509180743

Yup, that’s it. If you don’t live in a grill-year-round climate this also works great in the oven.Tonight we’re having it with sprouted brown rice and roasted green beans. When I was a kid green beans were my favorite vegetable, and now they’re my son’s favorite. We like to have them roasted – and it’s very easy. I use frozen green beans, and you don’t even have to thaw them first.

SketchGuru_20160509164807

Green beans into the pan, a little olive oil and some of the italian seasoning blend that I live on. My favorite olive oil was on sale recently so I got a summer’s worth.

SketchGuru_20160426171821

375 degree oven for about 45 minutes, depending upon how crispy you want your green beans. I like them crispy. All told this can get on the table in less than an hour, which is not bad for a weekday night.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

