Frittata

on

I don’t hate Mondays. There, I said it. I realize I have been culturally conditioned to hate them, but I actually like my job, so I don’t. Mondays are however, tough, because I have to start thinking about the week ahead and how I’m going to get everything done. Believe me when I say that I don’t want one more thing to think about on Monday, so I need something pretty easy to make for dinner that isn’t going to require an enormous amount of mental energy.

Enter the frittata. You’ve got eggs, milk and anything else in your fridge and, voila!, you’ve got dinner. I’ve made them with brie, bacon and apples, or with peppers and cheddar cheese. Now, the only downside to a frittata is that they require an enormous amount of eggs, like 8-10. And eggs are expensive. Eggs are even expensive here in California – I imagine it’s worse in the rest of the country. But I found this recipe for Spring Vegetable Frittata and it only required 3 eggs! The recipe says it feeds 4, so I doubled it, because I always want leftovers for my breakfast or lunch the next day. And 6 eggs I can deal with. This has become my base frittata recipe  (I’ve never actually made it the way the recipe calls for).

I’m a big fan of the brie, bacon and apple added to the base, but so far my favorite has been grilled asparagus and pepper frittata. It’s spring, which means the asparagus is on sale and amazing. My favorite way to have asparagus is grilled with a little olive oil and salt and pepper so that the tips are lightly charred. Even I can manage to pick up a bunch of asparagus and a red bell pepper or two after work. Onto the grill they went.

SketchGuru_20160426172240

Once done into the cast iron pan with the eggs and the milk and then nicely firmed up and lightly browned in the oven. And I’ll tell you a secret: Husband J was late coming home from work so son j and I had dinner by ourselves…and I told j that our vegetables were in the frittata, so we didn’t need any more. I don’t know if that makes me a bad mom or a brilliant mom.

If we want a meatless dish this is now my go-to. You can dress it up with a nice salad and a glass of wine (it’s Rose weather) or make it for brunch. I’ve thought about making one on sunday for my breakfasts for the week. (I get up at 3:30, so thinking about breakfast at that hour is impossible – if I don’t have something ready I’m not going to eat).

You can do practically anything with the base recipe, and it’s not going to break the bank.

 

 

Leave a Reply

