Salmon with Caper-Garlic-Lemon Butter Sauce

on

This could totally be an impress-your-date-boyfriend-girlfriend-future-in-laws kind of dish. It could also be a “Lucullus dines with Lucullus” (from A is for Dining Alone – M.F.K. Fisher), night-in by yourself dish. This week it was a “I’m not throwing in the towel” kind of dinner.  A bright spot to the week.

Trout (or Salmon) with Caper-Garlic-Lemon Butter Sauce, served with sprouted wild rice blend and a spinach salad. I never know what to do with capers, but now I do! Also, my neighbors on either side of me have lemon trees and while I’m a little out of practice hopping fences, for homegrown organic lemons I’d give it a try. (Unfortunately one neighbor has a dachshund named Snoopy that I am absolutely terrified of, and I’m convinced the other is a spy. Who says the suburbs are boring?)

I used salmon, although steelhead trout is available right now at the store. I’m just too bitter about never catching any fish to actually buy steelhead. I found a packaged frozen wild sockeye salmon fillet a while back. Normally I would prefer to buy fresh, and buy on the day I’m going to make something, but that isn’t always possible for me with my schedule (and honestly, sometimes I plan to cook something and then can’t make it off the couch). This was perfect – two fillets in a package and great fish. There’s just the three of us, and son j doesn’t eat all that much, so this is the perfect amount.

Everyone should be highly impressed that I almost actually followed the recipe! It is really super easy – I just made it even easier (for me). For some reason unknown to myself I loathe cooking fish on the stovetop. I always bake, broil or grill. But I did everything else according to the recipe -seasoned my salmon with salt and italian herb blend. I use the one I get from the bulk herb section at my market. I use this all the time on my chicken, but it never occurred to me to use it on fish.  While the fish was baking (15 minutes) I minced the garlic, juiced the lemons and got everything mixed together with the drained capers.  In to a small pan with the melted butter (oh, I also used more butter than was called for, so sue me) and I just let everything sit for a while as the fish finished up. We have a tradition in our house that consists of me yelling, ‘”Honey will you see if the fish is done!?!” Yeah, I can never tell if fish is done. Given that I love sashimi it should really bother me, but anyway, I always have my husband check to see if it’s done.

Served out the salmon and poured the sauce over. Son j just got a little sauce – the rule in our house is that you have to try everything, every time we have it. So he just got a little sauce, on a small portion of his salmon. He didn’t like it, but he ate the rest of the salmon. Hey, more sauce for Husband J and I!

A few notes:

This recipe is genius! It’s simple but delicious.

I would like to try this with steelhead trout. Steelhead are very similar to salmon in that they’re very rich. I don’t think the sauce would work with Rainbow Trout because it would overwhelm anything less robust than a salmon-y type fish.

Going to try it grilled next time. And, I’m going to put a tad of the italian herb blend in the sauce as well. (I’m seriously addicted to that stuff)

Leave a Reply

