Thai Chicken with Peanut Sauce

on

So in a completely unexpected turn of events: we got cilantro in last week’s csa box. Cilantro. In late March. My own cilantro is barely sprouting out in the garden, and I’m worried it won’t survive since it looks like 70 degree weather and no rain is here to stay. Honestly, without tomatoes or tomatillos I have no idea what to do with cilantro, so of course, I did the obvious: I looked on Pinterest.

Turns out I’d been holding on to a Thai Chicken with Peanut Sauce recipe that could be made in a slow cooker. The cilantro, and the peanuts, were the only thing I was missing (yes, I even had a can of coconut milk; I’m not sure what I’d bought it for…). Oh, and the lime juice, but as you will soon learn, I didn’t bother to put any in.

This was easy enough – all the ingredients (chicken breasts, peanut butter, soy sauce, coconut milk, rice vinegar, honey, garlic, red chili flakes, no lime juice) in, turn on crockpot, wait a couple of hours, cook some rice to go with, and voila!

The house smelled so good. No, really. Son j was at his grandma’s so he didn’t get any of it, but given the peanut butter I don’t think it would have been pulling teeth to get him to scarf it down. It was almost too good, as husband J and I probably ate more than we should. We did manage to leave some for my lunch this week, but next time I am doubling the recipe and putting some in the freezer to have lunches on hand.

So, three things:

  1. No lime juice. I didn’t have any. I did have lemon juice, but couldn’t get the lid off, so I just went without. (That turned out to be fortuitous, as Husband J used the lemon juice later to make us Lynchburg Lemonades)
  2. No peanuts. We didn’t make it to the store (which meant I had NO COFFEE OR MILK on Sunday morning – you do not want to know how ugly that was). But I figured there was plenty of peanut butter in the sauce. It was not missed.
  3. The cilantro was to be used for garnish however, I really like cilantro, and I hadn’t made a vegetable to go with this, so we used about 1/2 to 3/4 cup on our dishes and just stirred it all in.
  4. Next time, oh and there will be a next time, I might try this on rice noodles and maybe add some sauteed snap peas. Husband J likes to joke about “the rotation” of recipes that are easy and we all like. This one’s definitely going in.

 

Leave a Reply

