What do I do with….?

The adventure of a csa is that you will get vegetables or fruit that you don’t normally buy. Oh yes, I got carrots in the box this week,  but I also got beets. I have horrible memories of beets from my childhood so it’s not something I’m going to buy. I’m not sure if mom used canned beets or what, but, ick. Romanesco made an appearance again this week as well, at which I breathed a sigh of relief because my kid actually likes that so I knew there would be something for him to eat.

I arrived home with absolutely nothing planned out for dinner. I can go online and look at what the week’s box would contain, but, honestly, I forgot the password. I decided to be spontaneous, which is never a good thing.

So we had beets and I had this:

SketchGuru_20160226170025

A roasted beet recipe from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris. The dressing calls for orange juice, and as luck would have it a friend brought oranges over a couple day ago. It also calls for raspberry vinegar which I don’t have. But, I had pomegranate vinegar, voila!

SketchGuru_20160226170212

This was a stroke of luck a while back, it was being discontinued so it was really inexpensive. Downside is: now I love it but I can’t get any more. (Note to self: investigate how to make vinegar)

The beets were busy roasting, topped with olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh thyme (the only thing I managed to not kill from last year’s herb garden – it’s doing great). Alongside the beets I roasted the romanesco. Last time we had romanesco I steamed it, but I was talking with a co-worker today about romanesco (I know) and she said she likes it roasted, so I gave it a try. On the stove I had tri-color quinoa cooking as well as french green lentils, because I had them. About a week ago I decided I had better have some beans and grains on hand, just in case, because I can’t always get meals planned out.

I toasted some pine nuts and the remains of some slivered almond I had in the pantry. Some pine nuts went over the romanesco, after it came out of the oven because pine nuts burn too easily, and the rest, along with the almonds went in to the quinoa. I added some dried cranberries to the quinoa as well, thinking I could trick my kid into eating it.

So here’s the kicker: that dressing for the beets? Phenomenal on the lentils. I need to stop eating undressed lentils, they’re boring, although they do make you feel very virtuous. I’ve got leftover lentils and I think today they’ll be a salad with the orange juice-pomegranate dressing, maybe some chopped walnuts and feta cheese.

Leave a Reply

