Roasted fall vegetables with lentils and spices

I’m a meat-and-potatoes girl. I’m also a so-boring-it-hurts, what?-I-like-the-rut-I’m-stuck-in, green-beans-with-everything! girl.

But look at me, all branching out and stuff.

I’ve been trying to find vegetarian recipes (if you have a favorite send it my way!) and I got this one from Sunset magazine. Technically it’s vegan.

At the very least this recipe makes the house smell good. Butternut squash, which I buy pre-cut because I don’t want to kill myself, brussel sprouts, lentil du puy, the standard onion, celery and carrot. Oh, and garam masala, a pretty damn healthy amount (4 1/2 teaspoons worth). Our house smells like garam masala and Christmas tree (it’s actually a pretty good combo).

I made a few tweaks.

Instead of sauteing the carrots, celery and onion in olive oil I used La Tourangelle’s SunCoco – a sunflower and coconut oil blend. It’s good for high heat, it was on sale for 6.98, and it worked great.

SketchGuru_20151213120803

The dressing that you coat the butternut squash in called for honey, but I used blackstrap molasses, which honestly worked great with the garam masala and tastes all nice and roast-y. I never would have thought that fresh thyme and dijon mustard would work with blackstrap molasses, but then again …branching out.

SketchGuru_20151214154756

And really, anytime I can have brussel sprouts, I’m happy.

SketchGuru_20151214152858

In fact, for son j the brussel sprouts are the saving grace. He doesn’t really like butternut squash. I can’t blame him as I’m not particularly fond of it myself, but coating it with molasses seems to help.  And, hey, the kid ate everything I gave him, so we’ll call this a success.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

