Venison chili

You really don’t appreciate the beauty of a rainy day until you’ve lived in a drought. It didn’t even rain all that much today – just a bit this morning and then a nice cloudy, gray today. We decorated the Christmas tree and hung out around the house, all while the venison chili was doing it’s thing in the crockpot.

SketchGuru_20151206095326

As per my usual, I left a few things out of this recipe.  First – no carrots. Carrots in chili really creep me out. Second – no pepper. Um, because I’m cheap and peppers in December are expensive. I used Ancho Powder instead of just regular chili powder. I’m pretty sure I have chili powder somewhere, but I thought the Ancho would be nice with the venison. And I didn’t use the Ro-tel tomatoes and chilies called for in the actual recipe. I used a 28 oz can of Muir Glen diced tomatoes and added in a 6 ounce can of Ortega Diced Green Chilies.  I thought of adding some cocoa powder because Husband J makes his chili with chocolate, but as there was 2 heaping tablespoons EACH of cumin and ancho powder I thought I shouldn’t push it. Maybe next time.

There will be a next time because this was easy as pie (actually I find pie very difficult – I’m not a baker) and it was delicious. And there are leftovers so I’m set for work for at least a couple of days!

Leave a Reply

