Whiskey and wine and family

I sat down last sunday with numerous cookbooks, and my Pinterest “Dinner” board, open, pen at the ready, Filofax all set. I don’t always set the menu for the week, but I knew this was going to be a hard week at work (November always is) and that I would need to be organized and have a plan for dinners. I even asked husband J and son j what they would like (which is why we had 2 of husband J’s favorites this week).

It’s the end of the week, and I was all set to make a poor man’s version of cassoulet – sausage but no duck confit (which is my greatest pleasure in life – I’m convinced that they serve it in heaven). Cassoulet, in case, you didn’t know, it basically French “pork and beans”.

It turned out perfectly – I actually, for once, followed the recipe to the letter. I had two glasses of Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc. It was amazing.

Want to know what was most amazing about? Son j (“I’ve eaten almost all of it can I have Pumpkin Pie now?”) and husband J, sitting next to me on the couch, drinking McCarthy’s Whiskey with his dinner.

Because it’s kind of been a whiskey and wine night.

We made sure our friends in Paris were safe

We watched the news and hoped that my classmates were safe. We hoped that the countless strangers were safe.

Nothing really centers you like food. It’s the common denomination across cultures. Your family may just be the two of you, or it may be the eight of you, but regardless it’s the one moment in the day where you slow down, you stop, and you find your center.

Whether you actively say grace or not, it’s the moment that grace visits you.

Enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

