Prototype chicken stock

One of the things I’m learning in my class is the concept of the prototype – don’t wait till everything’s perfect, prototype. Get something out there now, get feedback, respond, next prototype.

I’m taking that to heart with today’s chicken stock. I make chicken stock quite a bit, and it’s always different. There’s never been a bad batch, some are better than others. Lately I haven’t even been putting any vegetables in, just chicken carcass and water and maybe some salt and peppercorns. But today I decided to go classic and made sure I had onions, garlic, carrots and celery.

Oh yes the celery. If you’ve never used organic celery in anything I highly recommend it. Did you know that celery had a taste? Me neither, until I tried organic celery.

Alas, this batch of broth will not have that lovely taste, because when I left for work yesterday morning there was one or two stalks lefts…just enough for my broth. This morning when I opened the fridge there was absolutely nothing.

So this will be prototype chicken stock: onion, garlic, bay leaves, dried thyme, salt, peppercorns, carrot, carcass, water, but no celery. To compensate I upped the amount of onion.

In a couple of hours I’ll have the finished product and then decide what to do with it. I make a great chicken, mushroom, rice and wine casserole (with homemade white sauce), but I also snagged a discontinued bag of Bob’s Red Mill Beans & Grains soup mix so anything’s possible.

(p.s. Whenever I roast a chicken or do a beer-can chicken on the grill I save the carcass in a ziploc in the freezer to make stock out of. It really helps get your money out of a chicken.)

Leave a Reply

